2019 Itinerary of Trajet Acadie-Québec

August 25 - September 7, 2019

Legend :  breakfast,  lunch,  supper

  • Arrival

    Moncton, New Brunswick - Welcome and registration at the Crowne Plaza Hotel

    Welcome to Acadia! A meet and greet and registration will be held in the evening for participants. Shuttle service between the airport and the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Main Street, Moncton will be provided.

  • Day 1

    Welcome, Acadian Museum, Aberdeen Cultural Centre, evening celebration of culture and the arts

    After breakfast, you head off to the Acadian Museum at the Université de Moncton for a word of welcome followed by a guided tour of the museum and interpretation of artworks inspired by Acadia. Then, enjoy some fresh air on a guided walking tour including historical interpretation at Moncton’s Riverfront Park before heading off to Aberdeen Cultural Centre to lunch at Les Brumes du Coude, one of the top restaurants in the region. During your meal, chef and owner Michel Savoie will talk about the culinary culture in Acadia. Next, you’re off for a tour of the art galleries at Aberdeen Cultural Centre followed by an entertaining chat with a specialist in Acadian language. The day ends with supper and a lively cultural evening at Resurgo Place.   

  • Day 2

    Visit to Le Pays de la Sagouine, activities at Adorable Chocolat and Shediac Bay Cruises

    After breakfast, you’re off to the Bouctouche area and Le Pays de la Sagouine, a uniquely Acadian experience, where you’ll step into the world of famous author Antonine Maillet. Following lunch, you’ll continue down the coast to Shediac, where you’ll first make a stop at Rotary Park to visit the World’s Largest Lobster and explore the souvenir shops. Those with a sweet tooth will be delighted by an afternoon visit to artisan chocolatier Adorable Chocolat, where you’ll make your own chocolates and sample some tasty local products. Next on the list is a visit to Pointe-du-Chêne Wharf and some time spent exploring the area before heading out onto the water for a lobster feast served up by Shediac Bay Cruises.   

  • Day 3

    Travel to Prince Edward Island, tour of two national historic sites accompanied by an Acadian historian

    After breakfast, you’ll hit the road for Prince Edward Island. Arriving on the Island, a stop at Gateway Village is a must to admire the awe-inspiring Confederation Bridge linking Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick. Dive into the region’s fascinating past guided by an Acadian historian waiting there to meet you. Next, stop at Skmaqn–Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst National Historic Site marking the location of the first European colony on Île Saint-Jean (today Prince Edward Island), founded by the French in 1720. You’re then off to Charlottetown, provincial capital and the birthplace of Canada, where one of the key conferences leading up to the founding of the Canadian Confederation took place. There, you’ll visit Confederation Centre of the Arts, Government House and Carrefour de l’Isle-Saint-Jean. In the evening, you will have ample time to explore the city centre at your leisure and have supper at a place of your choosing.  

  • Day 4

    Visit and activities in P.E.I.’s Évangéline Region, traditional “kitchen party” in the evening

    After breakfast, you leave for Rustico, one of the first Acadian communities founded in "Nouvelle Acadie" following the signing of the Treaty of Paris of 1763. There, you’ll visit the Farmers’ Bank of Rustico Museum—a national monument of architectural importance to Prince Edward Island and symbol of the Acadians’ survival— and Doucet House as well as St. Augustine Church, the Island’s oldest Catholic church. Next, you’ll head to Miscouche to visit the Musée acadien of Prince Edward Island. After a savoury meal of traditional Acadian dishes, it’s off to the Évangéline Region to explore its traditional music, local crafts, the Bottle House and other unique local offerings. This evening, you’ll dig into a seafood feast to fuel up for the old-time Acadian kitchen party that follows!   

  • Day 5

    Return to New Brunswick, activities at Kouchibouguac National Park and travel to Caraquet

    After a final breakfast in Prince Edward Island, you’ll return to New Brunswick and travel to Kouchibouguac National Park. Discover a national park on New Brunswick’s Acadian Coast where lush mixed-wood forests lead to colourful salt marshes and warm ocean beaches along the Northumberland Strait. An outreach presenter from the Mi’kmaq First Nations will be on-site to teach you about the Aboriginal culture whose roots on this land go back many centuries. After lunch, a guide will take you fishing in the park’s lagoons, home to numerous marine species, and then to Kelly’s Beach, with its natural wealth and unique features. Then it’s back on the road, this time to the Acadian Peninsula, making your first stop at the capital of Acadian culture, Caraquet. Enjoy some free time this evening to explore the area, including the Carrefour de la Mer, the fishing wharf, the shops of the “quai des artistes” and this charming town’s dining options.  

  • Day 6

    Village historique acadien in Caraquet and transfer to Edmundston

    You’ll start your day with a breakfast presentation on Acadian accents at the bakery and coffee shop Grains de folie followed by a visit to the Village historique acadien, a cultural gem recreating the lives of the Acadian ancestors between 1770 and 1949 and today renowned for the authenticity of its historical re-enactments and heart-warming hospitality. After lunch, you’ll head to Edmundston, where you’ll celebrate the end of the first leg of your adventure (the Acadian portion) by savouring a meal featuring traditional dishes from the region.   

  • Day 7

    Travel to the Saguenay region of Québec, visit to l’Anse-de-Tabatière, traditional feast and evening of poetry

    After breakfast, you start out on the second leg of your trip: Québec. Your adventure starts in the Saguenay, where you’ll explore one of the region’s most scenic sites, l’Anse-de-Tabatière, and learn about the unique history of the "king of l’Anse." A traditional feast awaits for supper, and you’ll end the day with an evening of poetry at the Café du Quai.   

  • Day 8

    Whale watching, visit to a former trading post and the Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre, and tasting of local beers

    Following breakfast, you’ll hop aboard a zodiac boat to head out onto the river looking for whales. The delightful village of Tadoussac provides the backdrop for the noon-hour meal, and then you’ll visit a former trading post and take part in an activity showcasing the First Nations culture. Your time in Tadoussac ends with a visit to the Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre. This evening, it’s back to l’Anse-Saint-Jean and the Bistro de l’Anse for supper and a tasting featuring beers from the region.   

  • Day 9

    Sea kayak outing or hiking at Rivière-Éternité, wild mushroom picking and boreal-themed supper

    On your third day in the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region, you’ll head off to Rivière-Éternité, where you can choose between exploring the area by sea kayak or nature walk. After lunch, it’s back on the road in the direction of Saint-Félix-d’Otis, an ecovillage where you’ll learn about the environmentally friendly way of life for which this community is known. A second unforgettable stop awaits in the form of an experiential ecosafari, where you’ll have an opportunity to go picking wild mushrooms that you’ll feast on this evening when they’re incorporated into a boreal-themed supper.   

  • Day 10

    Visit to Musée du Fjord and an Innu village; food tasting and overnight stay in a traditional Aboriginal abode

    After breakfast, you’ll tour the must-see Musée du Fjord to take part in an activity to learn more about the magnificent Saguenay Fjord. After lunch, you’ll go to the Innu village of Mashteuiatsh, where you’ll learn about the lives of the First Nations people. You’ll end the day immersing yourself in the Aboriginal world through a tasting of traditional dishes and an overnight stay in a "shaputuan" tent.   

  • Day 11

    Visit to the Chocolaterie des Pères Trappistes, choice of activities at the beach, and sunset walk at Cap-au-Leste

    After a continental breakfast, you’re off to Dolbeau-Mistassini for a tour of the Chocolaterie des Pères Trappistes, where you’ll learn more about their history and craft and, of course, sample some of their world-famous chocolate-covered blueberries. This afternoon will offer something for everyone when you head for the beaches of Lac Saint-Jean and the countless activities available there, including hiking, biking, freshwater bathing, or even simply curling up on the beach with a book. On the return bus trip to the Saguenay, you’ll learn some local expressions, and then the day comes to a close at magnificent Cap-au-Leste on the Saguenay’s north shore.   

  • Day 12

    Sightseeing in the Fjord, visit to La Vieille Ferme, activities at Parc Aventures Cap Jaseux and supper featuring boreal flavours

    A full day awaits featuring a short sightseeing walk along the Fjord in the morning followed by a visit to La Vieille Ferme, a rustic agrotourism attraction where you’ll be immersed in the lives of shepherds. A traditional picnic will be served on-site, after which you’ll head off to Parc Aventures Cap Jaseux where you can choose from a host of activities. You’ll end the day with a delicious boreal-themed supper at Hôtel Chicoutimi.   

  • Day 13

    Cultural activity in Chicoutimi, return to Québec City and departure

    Following a hearty breakfast, a last cultural activity awaits in Chicoutimi before leaving for Québec City, where your adventure comes to an end.

Itinéraire Trajet Acadie-Québec 2019

Du 25 août au 7 septembre 2019

Légende :  petit-déjeuner,  déjeuner,  diner

  • Arrivée

    Moncton, Nouveau-Brunswick - Accueil et inscription à l'Hôtel Crowne Plaza

    Bienvenue en Acadie! Une rencontre informelle aura lieu en soirée pour l’accueil et l’inscription.

    Un service de navette est prévu entre l’hôtel Crowne Plaza sur la rue Main à Moncton et l’aéroport.

  • Jour 1

    Mot de bienvenue, Musée acadien, Centre culturel Aberdeen et soirée culturelle

    Après le petit-déjeuner, nous nous dirigerons vers le Musée acadien de l’Université de Moncton pour le mot de bienvenue, qui sera suivi d’une visite guidée du musée et d’une activité d’interprétation d’œuvres d’art inspirées de l’Acadie. Ce sera ensuite l’occasion de prendre l’air lors d’une marche guidée avec interprétation historique au parc Riverain de Moncton, puis nous prendrons la direction du Centre culturel Aberdeen où vous aurez la chance de déjeuner aux Brumes du Coude, restaurant réputé de la région. Ce déjeuner sera agrémenté d’une discussion sur la culture culinaire en Acadie avec le chef propriétaire, Michel Savoie. Vous ferez ensuite la tournée des galeries d’art du Centre culturel Aberdeen et participerez à une causerie animée par une spécialiste de la langue acadienne. La journée se terminera avec un diner et une soirée culturelle haute en couleur au Centre Resurgo.   

  • Jour 2

    Visite au Pays de la Sagouine, activités à la chocolaterie Adorable et Croisières de la Baie de Shediac

    Après le petit-déjeuner, nous nous dirigerons vers la région de Bouctouche, au Pays de la Sagouine, site d’une expérience acadienne unique où vous entrerez de plain-pied dans l’œuvre de la célèbre Antonine Maillet. Après le diner, nous suivrons la côte vers le sud pour arriver à Shediac, où nous ferons un premier arrêt au Parc Rotary pour y visiter son célèbre gros homard et flâner dans les boutiques souvenirs. Les gourmands seront comblés en après-midi avec une visite de la chocolaterie Adorable Chocolat où une activité de fabrication de chocolats et une dégustation de produits locaux sont prévues. Une visite au Quai Pointe-du-Chêne et des activités de découverte sont ensuite à l’horaire de la journée, qui se terminera en mer avec un souper homard offert par les Croisières de la Baie de Shediac.   

  • Jour 3

    Voyage vers l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, visite de deux lieux historiques nationaux accompagné d’un historien acadien

    Après le petit-déjeuner, nous prendrons la route en direction de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Dès l’entrée sur l’île, un arrêt au village Gateway s’impose pour admirer l’architecture du Pont de la Confédération qui relie l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et le Nouveau-Brunswick. Notre guide local, un historien acadien qui nous fera découvrir l’histoire de la région, nous y attendra. Notre deuxième arrêt sera au lieu historique national de Skmaqn–Port-la-Joye–Fort-Amherst, qui marque l’emplacement de la première colonie européenne de l’île Saint-Jean (l’actuelle Île-du-Prince-Édouard) établie par les Français en 1720. Nous nous dirigerons ensuite vers Charlottetown, capitale et lieu de naissance du Canada où s’est tenue l’une des importantes conférences relatives à la fondation de la Confédération canadienne. Nous visiterons par la suite le Centre des arts de la Confédération, la Maison du Gouvernement et le Carrefour de l’Isle-Saint-Jean. Aucune activité de groupe n’étant prévue pour cette soirée, vous aurez tout le loisir de découvrir le centre-ville à votre aise et de diner où vous le souhaiterez.  

  • Jour 4

    Visite et activités dans la région Évangéline Î.-P.-É., « Party de cuisine » traditionnel en soirée

    Petit-déjeuner et départ vers Rustico, une des premières communautés acadiennes établies dans la « Nouvelle Acadie » à la suite de la signature du Traité de Paris, en 1763. Nous y visiterons la Banque des fermiers de Rustico, monument national d’importance architecturale pour l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et symbole de survivance acadienne, la maison Doucet ainsi que l’église Saint-Augustin, plus vieille église catholique de l’île. Par la suite, nous nous rendrons à Miscouche pour y visiter le Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Après avoir dégusté un bon repas de mets traditionnels acadiens, c’est la région Évangéline et sa musique traditionnelle, son artisanat local, sa maison de bouteilles et autres particularités locales que nous découvrirons. En soirée, vous pourrez profiter d’un repas de fruits de mer pour vous donner l’énergie pour le traditionnel party de cuisine à saveur de l’Acadie qui nous attendra ensuite!   

  • Jour 5

    Retour au Nouveau-Brunswick, activités au Parc national Kouchibouguac et voyage vers Caraquet

    Petit-déjeuner sur l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et retour au Nouveau-Brunswick en direction du parc national Kouchibouguac. Vous découvrirez un parc de luxuriantes forêts mixtes qui conduisent à des marais salés colorés et aux plages chaudes et calmes de la côte du détroit de Northumberland. Un animateur-guide des Premières Nations Mi’kmaq sera sur les lieux et nous entretiendra de la culture autochtone qui y a ses racines depuis plusieurs siècles. Après le diner, un animateur nous accompagnera d’abord à la pêche dans les lagunes du parc qui abritent plusieurs espèces marines, puis à la Plage Kelly’s, où il nous parlera de ses richesses et particularités. Nous reprendrons la route pour nous rendre dans la Péninsule acadienne où le premier arrêt est la capitale de la culture acadienne, Caraquet. Une soirée libre est planifiée afin de vous permettre de vous balader et découvrir le Carrefour de la Mer, le quai des pêcheurs, le quai des artistes et les restaurants que cette charmante ville a à vous offrir.  

  • Jour 6

    Village historique acadien de Caraquet et transfert vers Edmundston

    Nous débuterons notre journée avec un petit-déjeuner causerie sur les accents acadiens à la Boulangerie Grains de Folie et nous poursuivrons avec une visite au Village historique acadien; petit bijou qui recrée la vie des ancêtres acadiens de 1770 à 1949, et qui est reconnu pour l’authenticité de sa reconstitution historique et son accueil chaleureux. Après le diner, nous nous dirigerons vers Edmundston où nous célébrerons la fin de la première partie de notre voyage (section Acadie) avec un repas de mets traditionnels de la région.   

  • Jour 7

    Voyage vers le Saguenay au Québec, visite de l’Anse-de-Tabatière, festin traditionnel et soirée poésie

    Après le petit-déjeuner, nous reprendrons la route pour entamer la deuxième partie du parcours : le Québec. Ce parcours débute au Saguenay, où nous sillonnerons l’un des plus beaux sites de cette région, l’Anse-de-Tabatière, et où nous vous ferons découvrir la singulière histoire du roi de l’Anse. Un festin traditionnel est au menu du soir, et nous terminerons la journée par une soirée poésie au Café du Quai.   

  • Jour 8

    Croisière aux baleines, visite d’un ancien poste de traite, du Centre d’interprétation de mammifères marins, et dégustation de bières locales

    Après le petit-déjeuner, un bateau zodiac nous attendra pour nous amener sur le fleuve à la rencontre des baleines. Le magnifique village de Tadoussac servira de décor au repas du midi, puis nous irons visiter un ancien poste de traite et assister à une activité relatant la rencontre des Premières Nations. La visite de Tadoussac se conclura par la visite du Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins. En soirée, retour à l’Anse-Saint-Jean au Bistro de l’Anse pour le souper, et atelier de dégustation de bières de la région.   

  • Jour 9

    Sortie en kayak de mer ou randonnée pédestre à Rivière-Éternité, cueillette de champignons sauvages et souper à thématique boréale

    Pour la troisième journée au Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean, nous nous rendrons à Rivière-Éternité, où vous aurez le choix entre faire une sortie en kayak de mer ou une randonnée pédestre. Après le déjeuner, nous reprendrons la route pour nous rendre à l’Écohameau de Saint-Félix-d’Otis, endroit où nous en apprendrons davantage sur le mode de vie écologique qui en est la particularité. Une expérience tout aussi étonnante suivra cette visite : l’écosafari expérientiel qui est l’occasion de faire l’autocueillette de champignons sauvages que vous pourrez ensuite déguster le soir même puisqu’ils seront cuisinés pour notre souper à thématique boréale.   

  • Jour 10

    Visite du Musée du Fjord et d’un village innu, dégustations et nuitée dans un logement typique autochtone

    Après le petit-déjeuner, nous visiterons l’incontournable Musée du Fjord où une activité sur la découverte du Fjord du Saguenay vous sera proposée. Après le diner, nous nous rendrons au village innu de Mashteuiatsh pour découvrir plus en profondeur les Premières Nations. Nous terminerons la journée en plongeant dans l’univers autochtone grâce à la dégustation de mets typiques et à une nuit sous un shaputuan.   

  • Jour 11

    Visite de la Chocolaterie des Pères Trappistes, activité au choix à la plage, et randonnée au coucher de soleil à Cap-au-Leste

    Après un petit-déjeuner continental, départ pour Dolbeau-Mistassini où nous visiterons la Chocolaterie des Pères Trappistes qui offre un parcours instructif et gourmand relatant l’histoire de la chocolaterie et qui se conclut, bien entendu, avec une dégustation de son réputé chocolat aux bleuets. En après-midi, il y en aura pour tous les goûts comme nous nous rendrons sur les plages du Lac Saint-Jean et les innombrables activités qu’elles ont à offrir : randonnée pédestre ou à vélo, baignade en eau douce, ou tout simplement lecture sur la plage. Dans l’autobus du retour vers le Saguenay, nous en apprendrons un peu plus sur les expressions savoureuses de la région, puis nous terminerons la journée sur le magnifique site de Cap-au-Leste situé sur la rive nord du Saguenay.   

  • Jour 12

    Randonnée d’observation du Fjord, visite de la Vieille Ferme, activités au Parc Aventures Cap Jaseux et souper à saveur boréale

    C’est une journée bien remplie qui nous attend : petite randonnée avec observation du Fjord en matinée suivie d’une visite de la Bergerie de la Vieille Ferme, lieu rustique qui se spécialise notamment dans l’élevage d’agneaux. Un pique-nique traditionnel sera offert sur place, après quoi nous nous rendrons au Parc Aventures Cap Jaseux où plusieurs activités seront proposées. Nous terminerons la journée par un délicieux souper à saveur boréale à l’Hôtel Chicoutimi.   

  • Jour 13

    Activité culturelle à Chicoutimi, voyage de retour vers la ville de Québec et départ

    Après un petit-déjeuner copieux, une dernière activité culturelle nous attendra à Chicoutimi avant de repartir vers la ville de Québec pour la fin de notre voyage.